Spicy Chicken and Peppers

I found a couple bruises on my arm… BUT they’re good bruises (how is a bruise good?) because they were unintentionally self-inflicted (still wondering how they’re good??).  On Thursday, when my boss told me I could leave early and take Friday off for no real reason whatsoever, I pinched myself, twice.  And I wasn’t dreaming!  So here it is, Friday morning, back screen door open and birds chirping while I prepare some gluten free steel cut oats with coconut milk accompanied by a cup of organic green tea.  I even used my whistling tea kettle for the first time – and it’s RED!  AND I have lunch plans with a girl friend!!  Awesome Friday so far.

Mmmmm.

Mmmmm breakfast.

So… I already thought of changing my blog name to something along the lines of “Red gets Raw” to allow me to create posts besides recipes.  For instance, one day I might want to share a random thought and no recipe.  But then again Magan thinking = recipe for disaster.  So I guess that works.  I have also had a couple people ask about my training.  Scott and I DID create a “Woolwine Workout” using a 90 degree angle where two kitchen counters meet, and it IS in the kitchen… so maybe that is a recipe for ripped abs?  But I also do crafts around the house and garden in our highly attention-needed backyard when I have free time.   You will definitely want to know about that stuff too.  I guess I’ll keep the blog name as is and confuse the world when I post anything besides a recipe.  Yes.  The World.

The new babies.

The new babies.

It is now Friday afternoon and I just got back from the lunch date, which also turned into a visit to a plant nursery and a super cute little boutique.  I have issues entering any gardening section of anywhere and leaving empty handed (see Citronella and Peppermint additions to the right).  I told the fiance we are not allowed to visit animal shelters until… well we don’t have to worry about that since our dogs are going to live forever.  The little boutique, named Magpie, positively overwhelmed me with all their scented lotions and candles, unique gift items and fresh floral arrangements!  I shall visit them again very soon.   Three new experiences in one simple afternoon… LOVE my girl time (Thanks Casey!), even if my head and chest feel no improvement after an Allegra D popping.  Still convinced it’s allergies, not a bug, ALLERGIES.

* sniffle cough sip some tea sniffle *

Onto said recipe!  I call this one, Spicy Chicken and Peppers!  I know I know, killing you with my creativity.  Since it can easily turn into a Super Spicy Chicken and Peppers, you can knock down the heat by adding less jalapenos and definitely do not add a dash of cayenne pepper like I do to just about EVERYTHING (not listed in ingredients).  I also realize this recipe takes more steps than my normal ones and probably is not the greatest “first recipe post” buuuuuut, livin’ and learnin’.

Spicy Chicken and Peppers

  • 2 Organic Chicken Breasts
  • 1 TBS Chili Powder
  • 1/2 TBS Ground Cumin
  • 1 tsp Fresh Thyme
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1 Cup Chicken Broth – try making it homemade
  • 2 TBS Raw Local Honey
  • 2 Limes (their juice anyway)
  • 3 – 4 Jalapeno Peppers (I leave the seeds for extra spice!)
  • 2 Bell Peppers (I used 1/2 green 1/2 yellow 1/2 orange 1/2 red)
  • 3 TBS Fresh Parsley

Step 1:  MARINATE CHICKEN.  Combine chili powder, cumin, fresh or dried thyme (I have fresh in my herb garden), salt and pepper in small dish.  Rub your cleaned chicken breasts with this spice combo (I cut my breasts into strips) and place in a glass baking dish (I used 8×8).  Cover and place in fridge for as long as possible (I could only do an hour).

Step 2:  PREPARE THE SAUCE.  When you’ve reached the end of your “chicken marinating patience”, heat the oven to 450 degrees.  Begin chopping your bell peppers, jalapenos, fresh parsley (thank you again herb garden), and the lime.  In a sauce pan over medium heat, combine all your choppings with the chicken broth, honey and lime juice.  At this point, I placed my chicken, uncovered in the heated oven.  Then continue cooking the stove top sauce over medium heat until veggies become soft-ish (about 15 mins).

Step 3:  COMBINE AND BAKE.  Pour the pepper sauce over the chicken in the glass dish and place back in oven for 45 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Step 4:  FEAST.  As Scott likes to say.

Marinate, Prepare Sauce, Bake, FEAST.

Marinate, Prepare Sauce, Combine & Bake, FEAST.

Now if you’re a leftover eater like me, I recommend adding a little extra chicken broth to the leftovers prior to reheating, whether you reheat on the stove top (I mixed with broth and shredded the chicken the next day – yum!), microwave or oven.  Helps maintain the moisture in the chicken.  Enjoy!

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

6 responses to “Spicy Chicken and Peppers

  1. I share your obsession with garden departments. I’m quite sure the plants whisper my name….and I love your chicken recipe. I have a package of thighs in the refrigerator, ready to roast.

Leave a Reply

