Cooking Fresh Veggies from the Farmers Market

A girl friend (named Kayla and she is awesome) and I decided to run a few errands while our boys stayed home and played FIFA. That dumb game. Indoors on such a beautiful day. Ugh. Anyway, I specifically requested that we browse the Cedar Park Farmers Market for fresh veggies to cook this week. I ended up leaving with a HUGE head of cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, broccoli and mushrooms. One of these days I will venture out and try the chard, collard greens, more root veggies, etc.

Twice I attempted to stop at the Kombucha stand with no success of getting the guy’s attention. TWICE! Sooo he was low on stock and had a few people there, but that is no excuse to ignore me! Hellooooo! … Ok, I will get over it and try again next time. But I really wanted my Kombucha fix!

Then there was the lavender booth. That’s not the name of it, but it was a booth with many lavender scented items. It smelled so good. Sooo goooood. Next time I will try less hard to walk by without buying something… or at least sampling.

Told you it was HUGE.

Told you it was HUGE. The flexing was unintentional, but I also didn’t ask for a re-shoot.

Have you tried making your own juice from fresh fruits and veggies? There was a stand at the market that handed out samples of their juice, and let’s just say I didn’t love it. But then again, I didn’t ask their ingredients, and there are endless combinations. One of my favorite AZ girl friends juices (haha) and insists I try it. This may occur this morning after my oats since I still have yet to try out our Vitamix, AND I just so happen to have an apple and some frozen banana pieces on hand (which I’m told go well with spinach and other veggies). I will let you know. BTW – I try to limit my fruit consumption to mornings so I have time to burn off the sugar throughout the day.

AND I GOT ANOTHER CITRUS TREE! Once Scott and I headed home from our friends’, we stopped at the Home Depot for potting soil. Mwa hahaha the ol’ “I need to stop for one thing but plan to add more the the cart while we’re there” trick. Works every time. We got a new key lime tree!! My Meyer lemon tree (bush) wanted a new buddy anyway. And so did I.

Yes I'm hugging a tree. and that paper towel in my hand kept my finger from bleeding due to a sharp bud on this tree.

Yes I’m hugging a tree. and that paper towel in my hand kept my finger from bleeding due to a sharp bud on this tree. The earrings were from earlier in the day. I promise I don’t wear earrings to garden normally. This is officially the longest caption EVER.

Now, back to those farmers market veggies 🙂

Simple Baked Broccoli

  • 1lb Organic Broccoli
  • 1 TBS Coconut Oil
  • Salt & Pepper

Step 1: PREPARE TO BAKE. Heat oven to 425 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with foil and grease it with the coconut oil. I used a paper towel to smear it over the foil. Place whole broccoli pieces on the cookie sheet without overlapping. Sprinkle salt and pepper.

Step 2: BAKE FLIP BAKE AGAIN. Place cookie sheet in oven for 15 mins, then (I used tongs) move the broccoli around in the oil a tad, then flip each piece. You will notice parts are beginning to get toasty. Let cook 5 minutes longer.

Step 3: KEEP WARM Remove from oven and wrap in foil to stay warm while the other items finish cooking. At this time you can add other seasonings too, like cayenne pepper, or a sprinkle of garlic, maybe a squirt of lemon juice.

Onion, Mushroom, Spinach Side/Topping

  • 1 tsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 Medium White Onion (organic)
  • 4-5 oz Mushrooms (1/4lb) sliced
  • 1 cup Fresh Spinach
  • 3 Garlic Cloves
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • S & P

Step 1: ONIONS. On the stove top over level 3 (out of 10) heat, add coconut oil and onions to the pan. Cook about 5 mins or until the onions approach translucence.

Step 2: MUSHROOMS. Slice ’em and add ’em to the pan and watch/stir for another 5 minutes.

Step 3: SPINACH AND STUFF. Add the spinach (I added a handful and assumed it was about a cup’s worth). Then sprinkle the garlic powder, salt and pepper. And watch/stir 5 more minutes.

Step 4: TAKE THE HEAT OFF. Mince garlic and add to the mix, then remove pan from burner. I have read that once you cut into a garlic clove, the nutritional value begins to deplete, so I try to eat my garlic as uncooked/untouched as possible. Then I covered the finished veggies with a bowl on the pan to stay warm until I could couple it with…

Grilled Thin Cut Steaks

  • 4 Thin Cut Angus Steaks**

I’m sorry I did not measure this, but I sprinkled both sides of the steaks with:

  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Salt & Pepper

Step 1: MARINATE. Like I said. I sprinkle both sides of each steak with the above seasonings.

Step 2: FIND A MAN WHO CAN GRILL. Ok I could totally do it myself, but why should I have to do everything?? I’m just kidding. He volunteered because he’s the best fiance ever. He heated our infrared gas grill to about 350 degrees, then grilled each side of the steaks for about 2.5-3 minutes.

Step 3: Enjoy!

Marinate Steak.  Bake Broccoli.  Slice onions and mushrooms.  Enjoy!

Marinate Steak. Bake Broccoli. Saute onions, mushrooms & Spinach. Enjoy!

**We prefer to buy grass fed beef at all times, but sometimes we break for convenience. Don’t judge us. Actually Scott is the one who bought it outside of my wishes, so judge him, not me.

Leave a Reply

