The Veggie Juice

I made the juice!

I may or may not have added color enhancement

I may or may not have added color enhancement.  And do you recognize the animated soccer game on the TV?  FIFA.

Here’s what I added:

  • 1/2 Medium Cucumber (with skin)
  • 2 Gala Apples (cored – not sure if that is necessary)
  • 1/2 Green Bell Pepper
  • 1 Lemon (peel removed with knife – not sure this is necessary either)**
  • 1 Handful of Spinach (about a cup)
  • 3 Inches Frozen Banana (I chop my bananas in inch-ish long pieces before freezing)
  • Handful of Ice

I recommend adding the more bulky ingredients prior to the spinach in the Vitamix, otherwise you will have minced spinach at the bottom and a pile of solids above it.  Whoops.  And I did not consume this entire creation.  I had two average coffee mugs worth in place of an early lunch (and sadly wasted the rest – is it ok to drink the next day?).  When I offered, and then forced Scott to try it, he held his nose and closed his eyes as I poured it into his mouth, and… imagine how a 4 year old might react to a bright green drink knowing it’s flavored with vegetables.  Not happening!  * sigh*

Here’s what I would try differently next time:

  • Only one apple – less sugar
  • Fresh ginger root – reduces inflamation and increases absorption of nutrients
  • More cucumber – flavor does not overpower, better than water
  • Add a table spoon or so coconut oil
  • Experiment with other veggies

Any recommendations are appreciated!  Enjoy!

**I read here that the peels are highly beneficial, but probably smart to not include the entire peel for taste purposes.  Maybe I will grate a portion of the peel into the juice before mincing.

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

Leave a Reply

