Favorite Turkey Chili

About 80 degrees and sunny on this fine, February afternoon, and I was stuck inside WORKING.  Who do these people think they are??  So the second I got out, I climbed the 160+ stairs with my two bags, hardly slowed my pace through the yacht club, uphill then downhill to my car, and drove calmly-ish home from work.  Windows down, music blasting of course.  Through our front door, I bypassed Scott playing FIFA (when is he going to tire of that game?!) and immediately threw on my sports tank, sneakers and hot pink running pants, grabbed my headphones, and headed outside for a run!  That turned out to be a horrible decision…  since getting home, I have not stopped sneeeeezing!  …Did you think I was going to say something in regards to my hot pink pants??  How dare you.  No way!  I’m that girl.  Especially after being stuck inside all day – bright colors bring cheer 🙂

No but seriously,  I have sneezed at least 75 times in 2 hours and blown my nose 20 (I originally said 15, but more time has passed now).  I really don’t know whether or not I’m exaggerating or spot on, but either way I want it to STOP.

And with that, I have your recipe.  When Scott first told me about changing his diet, and recommended for me also, to eat gluten free (about 3 months into our relationship, 18 additional months have passed since then), I wasn’t exactly cooperative.  I may have even questioned our compatibility, but then I remembered how gosh darn cute he is!  Ha, I kid.  And if you ask him, he might tell you I reacted rather “mean”.  He’s not kidding.  But think about it – cooking regularly for my significant other was new to me, and trying to come up with impressive recipes was tough to begin with – and now you’re adding rules??  (I blame my reaction on the red hair.)  Thank goodness within a couple days I stumbled upon a chili recipe with ingredients that perfectly fit the new “rules”!  Then I read the directions and saw the preparation only required a single big pot and a  medium size cutting board – BINGO!

We don’t follow that exact chili recipe these days as we’ve made it our own, and this one has grown to become our very favorite.  Every few weeks we make it in bulk for reheating and snacking throughout the week.

Favorite Turkey Chili

  • 1.25 lb Lean Ground Turkey Meat
  • 1 White Onion
  • 1 Jalapeno (optional – I didn’t have one, boo)
  • 1 Poblano Pepper
  • 1 Bell Pepper (I used half green half orange)
  • 1 Can of Beans (we like to use black beans or white kidney beans)
  • 4oz Tomato Paste (my can was 6oz)
  • 1 14.5oz Can Crushed Tomatoes (need to try real tomatoes next time)
  • 2.5 Cups Chicken Broth (I like mine to have a little broth, add less if you want it thicker)
  • 2 TBS Cumin
  • 1.5 TBS Chili Powder
  • 1 TBS Oregano
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp Crushed Red Pepper
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 4 Cloves Garlic (minced)
  • Fresh Cilantro (optional)

Step One:  COOK, CHOP, CRANK.  Add the turkey meat to a large pot over medium heat.  While this begins to cook, chop your veggies.  I used one big chopping board.  If you’re a fast chopper, go ahead and crank open those cans.  Or call someone over to give you a hand.  I have a can opening handicap so I get help as often as possible.  Oh!  I have a picture to prove it (*see below).  Drain and rinse your beans.

Step Two:  COMBINE, BOIL, SIMMER.  Dump in the chopped veggies, broth, beans, tomato items and stir it all together.  Raise heat to high and bring to a boil.  As the temperature rises, mix in the remaining ingredients and some salt and pepper, not the cilantro.  Once it comes to a boil, give it a good stir and drop the temperature to simmer (about level 4 for me) for 10 minutes, uncovered.

Step Three:  SCOOP & TOP.  After the ten minutes is up, I turned off the heat, and added 4 cloves of minced garlic – but I LOVE garlic and this is not necessary.  We also topped our personal bowl portions with chopped cilantro (and avocado and cayenne on mine).

Favorite Turkey Chili

Favorite Turkey Chili

In the turkey chili picture above (bottom left corner) you can see my new red tea pot 🙂  Enjoy the turkey chili!

*Below is my picture example of my can-opening issues from the “beginning” of our GF experiments, and the skills have not improved.  And that was with a brand new can opener.  And Scott is left handed!  Not sure if that means anything, but it does with scissors…

Left can = mineRight can = Scott's

Left can = mine
Right can = Scott’s

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

2 responses to “Favorite Turkey Chili

  1. We love turkey chili and make a batch almost every week. I use Garbanzo beans instead, I just like something different. If you want more protein, serve 1 cup of chili over 4 scrambled egg whites cooked like an omlette–VOILA!!! Chili and Egg breakfast

Leave a Reply

