The Cucumber

I have a clarification to make.  This is important so pay attention.  In my last post about our Favorite Turkey Chili, I stated my questioning of Scott and my compatibility after he requested I begin to cook gluten free.  I made a joke!  First of all, I expected for the change in diet to occur eventually because I experienced him already following it.  Second, and most important, I knew from the beginning I had stumbled upon someone pretty special… I just needed to make sure he knew what he was getting himself into!  But I know now that he can handle it… and I have the ring, so we’re good 😉

Ok, tell me if this would make you awkward.  A couple days ago, Scott went to the grocery store and I asked for him to pick up a couple things for me as well… one of the items being an organic cucumber.  I love to chop them into spears with salt, pepper and cayenne for a quick light snack.  Anyway, today I went into the fridge for my cucumber fix and realized this huge plastic-wrapped vegetable in the fridge (I thought might be a squash) is the cucumber!!  HELL-OO!  I do not know if it’s due to the things I hear certain people talk about around the marina or what, but I don’t think I’d feel comfortable buying that at the store by myself.  But I also always think people are staring at me… I’m not paranoid at all though.  Glad I have my innocent-minded man to buy my awkward produce for me.  Maybe I will work that into our wedding vows… another joke guys!

Cucumber Huge

Twas delicious.

While I snacked on the spears, I tried getting creative with a quinoa dish, but I’m not sure it’s share-worthy and I may need to play with it a tad more.  It includes cauliflower and turmeric and mixing with hands, which is why my nail looks yellow in the pic with whipped coconut oil.  Yep, I did that tonight too, whipped with a little peppermint essential oil –  such an amazing scent in the morning.

* deeeeeep inhale…. exhale slowly *

It's usually flufflier, but the house is a little warmer than usual.  If it hardens I will re-whip it. Whip it good.

It’s usually flufflier, but the house is a little warmer than usual. If it hardens I will re-whip it. Whip it good.

That’s about all I have to share with you tonight.  My boss wanted to send me home early today due to my sniffling and sneezing and coughing like a mad man.  So instead I requested an extra hour or so in the morning.  I’d much rather take my time in the morning.  That way I can water my plants and listen to the birds chirp while sipping on some warm tea… in my bathrobe.  Mmmmm hmmm.

2 responses to “The Cucumber

  1. that’s a japanese cucumber! when i asked the sushi guy at whole foods what cucumber to buy to make my own cucumber rolls he pointed to this kind! mmmm!

Leave a Reply

