Cinnamon Vanilla Coconut Ice Cream

Now, I’m a HUGE fan of cinnamon and vanilla… and ice cream.  So this quickly became my favorite, easy, dairy free “go to” ice cream recipe.  Not to mention it tastes fantastic with my gluten free brownies, but I have not yet shared that recipe so I apologize for the tease.  I have a secret Wish List saved to the notes in my phone, and “ice cream maker” had been on it for at least 6 months.  As I could not justify purchasing this item for myself, I kept it on my list in case I found a good deal one day.  (Yes, I have so many ‘wants’ that I need a list to remind me of what I want – shut up.)  Next thing I know, Christmas rolls through and I receive a surprise belated gift in the mail boxed from Crate and Barrel!  First of all, I knew immediately I was going to love it, and second, is my step mom a mind (or iPhone wish list) reader?!  She sent Scott and me a Cuisinart ice cream maker!!!!  I immediately messaged her saying how she unknowingly hit a home run in my life and the gift in general really meant so so much (and still does – thank you so much Lisa, it gets TONS of use… more than it should, but I know that was your intent!!!!! * evil laugh *).  😉

The Ice Cream Machine

The Ice Cream Machine

I would like to hear opinions on this, but after reading and comparing numerous ice cream recipes and techniques, I decided to try the egg route.  It creates a much more creamy texture in the final product.  Prior to the egg route, I attempted a “stove top boil then cool in the fridge for an hour, then add it to the ice cream maker” method.  Not only did that dirty more dishes, but it also took much longer!  I vote for the simplicity of the egg version over the stove top version.  But either way, I believe this recipe will work with or without the egg.  Also know this recipe is to be consumed in moderation.  This is a CHREAT (cheat treat)!  

Cinnamon Vanilla Ice Cream

  • 1 Can (about 2 cups) Coconut Milk (full fat baby – eventually I will risk a low fat version)
  • 1/4 cup Pure Maple Syrup or Raw Local Honey
  • 1 Whole Egg (**optional although I have not yet attempted the recipe without)
  • 1 TBS Cinnamon
  • 2 TBS Vanilla Extract

Step 1:  COMBINE  AND DUMP.  In a medium bowl, combine all of the above ingredients and mix thoroughly.  You can do this by hand and whisk or hand mixer.  Then dump the bowl’s contents into your ice cream maker.  Make sure you follow the ice cream manufacturer directions.

Step 2:  SAMPLE AND STORE.  I sample a few spoonfuls as it solidifies (probably not recommended on my manufacturer directions).  Then transfer your new favorite ice cream into a freezer-safe storage container until ready to serve.

Cinnamon Vanilla Ice Cream Monster

Cinnamon Vanilla Ice Cream Monster

Why did I put white chocolate chip eye balls on my cinnamon vanilla ice cream monster?  Because it made me laugh… and that’s the reason I do most things in life, or try to at least.

Are you aware of the many benefits of cinnamon?

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

2 responses to “Cinnamon Vanilla Coconut Ice Cream

    • This ice cream combo is one of my favorites to make. A new tip that I am going to add to this post: When storing your ice cream in the freezer, directly cover the ice cream with plastic wrap to block the air from touching it. This helps to prevent “icy” textures that sometimes occur when you store it. Hope you enjoy! I’m going to check out your blog after this 🙂

Leave a Reply

