Roasted Garlic Hummus

I’m super excited to wake up in Cali this morning. I had my suitcase out for packing 7 days in advance, my left eye is twitching uncontrollably and I my nightly sleep involves lots of tossing. Yep, I’m excited! Finally I got to fly into San Jose to visit one of my girl friends, Kelli, and her husband in their Santa Clara home!! Then Friday morning I will hop on a train to San Fran to meet up with a group of girls for Ashley’s (one of my girl friends from college) bachelorette party in Napa! As much as I want to say I can check this winery/Napa trip off of my bucket list once I return on Sunday, I have a feeling this one short trip will not satisfy the full experience. Maybe I shall return to have my bachelorette party here as well? Hmmm….

Since I need to get up and moving, let me quickly share with you my first hummus attempt recipe. Now I’m new to the Vitamix, and I’ve been told it assists in creating a deliciously creamy hummus texture. Not sure why I am Vitamix-challenged, but it just did not seem to blend the way I imagined. And when Scott suggested, “maybe you need to read the owner’s manual” I only grew more frustrated. But adding water helped and it still tasted awesome. Upon my return to Austin I plan on a Hummus Round 2 attempt.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

  • 1 (15 oz) Can Garbanzo Beans
  • 10-15 Garlic Cloves, roasted
  • 3 TBS Lemon Juice, fresh squeezed
  • 1/4 Cup Water
  • 3 TBS Tahini
  • 1.5-2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • Sprinkle Crushed Red Pepper (optional)

Step 1: ROAST CLOVES. Turn oven to 400 degrees. Wrap foil around cloves of garlic, and place on cookie sheet in heated oven for about 30 minutes. Traditionally, garlic is roasted in full heads, but (don’t judge) we buy the pre-peeled cloves…

Step 2: VITAMIX. (Or use the food processor). I dumped into the Vitamix my garbanzos and 10 roasted garlic cloves, then mixed until combined. Add lemon juice and water, mix and combine some more. Continue with the tahini, olive oil, cayenne and salt, mix thoroughly until desired smoothness.

Step 3: POUR AND GARNISH. I poured mine into a glass dish with locking lid, but prior to lid-locking, I made a pretty little star/flower out of the 5 leftover roasted garlic cloves (it was tough not to eat these, so maybe roast 20 in the beginning!), and sprinkled with crushed red pepper.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

Roasted Garlic Hummus

Dig in!

Dig in!

They made fun of me for bringing it to work the next day… until of course they ate the last of it and asked when I planned to bring more. Mmmm hmmm – good stuff right there!

Eat with slices of cucumber, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, turkey slices, chicken (do I need to continue – eat it with whatever you waaaant!), etc.

Leave a Reply

