Afternoon Tea and Plants in my Garden

Ah the beloved afternoon tea.  My current favorite combo:

Large mug with one of each tea bag - sometimes with a dash of cinnamon too

Large mug with one of each tea bag – sometimes with a dash of cinnamon too

Have I mentioned the level of awesomeness my future mother-in-law exudes?  If I had to rank her awesomeness from 1 to 10, she would be an 11.  Seriously.  A few weeks ago, she and I went on our first “date” together.  Of course we’ve spent time together before this, but it’s always with the boys.  So I really appreciated the opportunity for one-on-one time, and learned a little more about what makes her so special to my fiance.  You always hear how moms and sons share a unique bond, but those two are on a different level.  And each time we hang out, I understand and appreciate this more and more (and for the record, it has never been an issue!).   I’m very grateful to have her in my life – and on that note, we are overdue for a second date!

But, back to this first date, where we ventured to East Austin to check out the tomato plant babies at Johnson’s Backyard Garden.  The staff was super friendly, knowledgeable and most importantly, patient with answering all of our numerous questions.   I ended up leaving with 5 varieties of heirloom tomato plants (all different colors when ripe), 4 types of pepper plants (2 sweet and 2 hot), and a small (expensive) bag of compost.  Then we dropped by Lowes to pick up tomato cages and bamboo sticks for support as the plants grow, then headed home to end the successful day together 🙂  I can’t even remember what was so funny, but I do know we laughed almost the entire time.  I love having a woman to garden shop with me!

The next day, I tore up the garden bed soil and planted those bad boys – and skipped the gym because, goodness gracious, that is hard work!

Baby tomatoes and peppers 3.09.13

Baby tomatoes and peppers 3.09.13

Today, about 3 weeks later…

They're getting bigger!

They’re getting bigger!  And yes, I’m aware of the ivy I need to pull…

Now I must return to packing.  Somehow I magically completed ALL the laundry today – just in time to go to Arizona for the week.   Below are more random pictures of plants and flowers I’ve recently added to the backyard…

Potted Flowers

Hot & Spicy Oregano

Hot & Spicy Oregano

Wandering Jew and a plant I found in our front yard (ha)

Wandering Jew and a plant I found in our front yard (ha)

That huge garden bed in progress

That huge garden bed in progress

How I began the sweet potato slip creation…

I forgot to take a picture of the individual slips once I tore them from the potato.  If roots aren't growing yet, place the slip in fresh water to promote root growth before planting into soil.

I forgot to take a picture of the individual slips once I tore them from the potato. If roots aren’t growing yet, place the slip in fresh water on the window sill to promote root growth before planting into soil.

Enjoy!

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

Leave a Reply

