Frothy Green Tea with Coconut Oil

**It was brought to my attention that “Bulletproof” is possibly a name of a company!  So I am changing the name of this post and my tea combo to “Frothy Green Tea” so that it doesn’t steal from anyone.  I apologize for the ignorance.

I don’t always have the time for fun, awesome breakfasts like this in the morning, but when I do, I feel the need to share it.  First, as the husband used my laptop for work (on my self-made “desk” area located on the kitchen counter) and knowing I didn’t have any morning obligations, I decided this was going to be one of those mornings.  It began with a small protein shake.  Usually I would have gone straight to cooking, but the kitchen was filthy from last night’s feast preparations, and I am too OCD to begin the breakfast process on a dirty canvas.  So step one was to consume enough calories to energize myself to clean, THEN start cooking.  And sometimes I just like to share the same quiet space with my Love, even if we aren’t actively talking.

My basic morning shake includes the items in the photo…

Unsweetened Almond Milk, Vanilla OptiCleanse Plus Vegan Protein by Xymogen, Chocolate Power Greens by NuMedica

Unsweetened Almond Milk, Vanilla OptiCleanse Plus Vegan Protein by Xymogen, Chocolate Power Greens by NuMedica

Once the kitchen was spic and span, I began cooking/reheating my leftover, gluten free oatmeal from a couple mornings ago. *SQUIRREL* Have I mentioned I hate using microwaves?  Because of this hatred, we recently purchased a toaster oven to reheat solids. (Last night’s mess was partially due to my making cauliflower “pizza” crust for the first time, and I plan to reheat those leftovers in my toaster oven, although “it wasn’t awesome” is how I described my final cauliflower product to a girlfriend via text… BUT that was also in response to her “I got hot wings and fried pickles from Hooters” text, so it was not a fair comparison).  I’ve learned all you need to do is add some liquid and the reheating is sooo much better when you avoid the microwave.  Also microwaves kill the nutrients in your food, among other things, so you should stop using them too.  You’re welcome in advance.  

Ok, back to my oatmeal… First I started with heating up the last bits of full fat coconut milk I had saved in the fridge, along with unsweetened vanilla almond milk for additional liquids.  Once it warmed up (using level 5 of 10), I added my glob of leftover cold oatmeal, smashed it all together with the milks, then added a sliced half of a remaining banana from yesterday, drizzled in some vanilla extract and threw in a frozen chunk of organic raspberries.  Mixed that up until warmed through, then added a couple TBS of a cereal I have recently discovered and love, called Qi’a (organic & gluten free).  It’s kind of pricey, but it has lasted me longer than expected, a little goes a long way!  The cereal includes chai, buckwheat and hemp, which provide great nutrients at any time of the day.  The chai seeds expand and cause the liquids to thicken a little too.  Once that all mixed together, I removed it from the heat and added my usual cinnamon and honey, oops and almost forgot, a “heaping” tablespoon of coconut oil.  Mmmm.

Oatmeal of Champions

Oatmeal of Champions

Then I thought, “You know what would go really well with this?  FROTHY GREEN TEA!!”

Frothy Green Tea

Step 1:  BOIL & PREPARE.  However you choose to boil water, (I use an adorable, red teapot on my stove) do so, but boil more than the 2 1/4 Cup in case you drip some or it boils out or whatever might occur.  While the water heats up, prepare your blender by opening your two tea bags and placing them inside to wait for the water.

Step 2:  POUR & WAIT.  Once your water begins to boil, pour it over the tea bags that await their final destination within your blender.  (My Vitamix has measurements marked on the side, so that’s how I know to stop pouring once it reaches about 2 1/4 cup full.) Wait while they steep for 5-10 minutes.

Tea ingredients

Step 3:  REMOVE, ADD & BLEND.  After you think you’ve soaked the tea bags long enough, remove them and discard as you wish.  Then add your 1-2 TBS of coconut oil and dashes of cinnamon to the blender, cover, and begin the blending process.  I like to start off low, then speed it up, which makes it nice and frothy.  This doesn’t take long at all, maybe about 10 seconds.  At this point I add a healthy drizzle of honey, and blend again.

Blend and make froth!

Blend and make froth!

Step 4:  POUR & ENJOY.  Next, pour it into your favorite over-sized mug, and enjoy!

"Drink meeee"

“Drink meeee”

**Check out my FAQ Ingredients Page – leave a comment if there’s something you’d like to see added!

One response to “Frothy Green Tea with Coconut Oil

  1. Pingback: Scrapped Protein Shake | Red's Recipes in the Raw·

Leave a Reply

