Simple Baked Artichoke

The husband was so excited to tell me he picked up a “surprise” for me this morning.  Of course, the first thing that popped into mind was “flowers??” but that quickly disappeared because, well, that’s just silly.  Then I discovered two white paper bags, one with 3 donuts in it and one with 3 kolaches, and he goes, “You said you wanted donuts the other day so I got you some!”  All excited for being so thoughtful.  Shame on him!  And yes, I ate 1.5 donuts and a kolache… Shame on ME!

This is what donuts will do to you!  JK kids, this is what almost 27 weeks of pregnancy will do.

This is what donuts will do to you! JK kids, this is what almost 27 weeks of pregnancy will do.

Moving on… Friday night I was motivated to update my “Ingredients FAQ” page, then I realized my “About Me” was also way out of date, so I touched that up a bit too, but it’s still a work in progress (bear with me!).  I would spend time to work on it tonight after finishing this post, but tomorrow (Monday) is going to be a busy day for me.  It will begin with a midwife appointment (I always get excited for those!), then later in the afternoon I have a meeting with one of my employers to discuss work I can do for him from home (trying to find ways to continue some income when the baby comes).  Wish me luck that it’s something good!  Then of course I have my Monday evening work out with the hubs.

Speaking of the hubs, he’s not always the biggest fan of the foods I create for myself.  It’s not because they’re not delicious, more because I don’t think his taste buds have advanced much from when he was a 4 year old boy.  (I make that joke to his face, so it’s ok for me to say it here.)  One of my favorite veggie dishes that he HATES the smell of is my artichokes, but they taste (and smell) delicious to me!  And that’s what really matters, right??  Besides that, they are very healthy for you.  If you have never cooked or eaten a full artichoke, you’ve probably at least eaten/tried the artichoke heart.  Although the heart is usually the person’s favorite to consume, the leaves are where the majority of the nutrients reside.  Since they’re high in antioxidants, and a good source of Vitamin C, magnesium, dietary fiber, potassium and folate, while low in sodium, fat free and cholesterol free, you may want to rethink how you feel about the taste and smell of these buds as well!

Simple Baked Artichoke

  • 1 Large Artichoke
  • 1 TBS Coconut Oil (grass fed butter works here too…)
  • 5 Cloves Garlic
  • 1/2 – 1 Lemon (for the Juice)
  • Sea Salt (I use pink Himalayan, high minerals)
  • Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil (or two layers of normal duty foil)

*You can easily double or triple this recipe if you want to make additional artichokes.

Step 1:  PREHEAT, WASH & CHOP.  Preheat your oven to 425F. Make sure to rinse your artichoke thoroughly, and shake/pat dry if you wish.  From the top of the artichoke, chop about 1.5 inch down as to create an opening.  I use a serrated edge knife for this usually.  Then chop the stem off the bottom of the artichoke so that it stands upright and sturdy.

Step 2:  SEASON.  First, spread out the petals with your fingers, and place your garlic cloves in between the petals of your artichoke.  After cooking, the garlic will taste roasted and delicious… I still haven’t decided if I like these or the artichoke more!  Then sprinkle a little salt on top (you can always add more later if you want).  Next, I like to take the coconut oil and smash it down in between the petals as evenly as possible.  Either way it will melt down when you place it in the oven.  Then cut your lemon in half to squirt the juices over the top.  Depending on the size and juiciness of your lemon, you may need only half, or you may need the whole thing.

Baked Artichoke Seasoning

Step 3:  WRAP & BAKE.  Wrap that puppy up in your foil, place in a glass baking dish, and place in the preheated oven.  Depending on the size of your artichoke, it could take an hour to an hour and 15 minutes.  If in doubt, I like to leave it in a little longer, but if you insist of checking, tug on one of the petals in the center to see if it pulls out easily.  If it does, then you’re good to go!

Artichoke - Done

Step 4:  EAT.  Pull the petals one by one, eating/scraping with your teeth for the “meat”.  Discard or place in separate dish as you go – I usually use my glass baking dish as the discarded petal dish since it’s already going to require a washing.  I also like to dip my petals in the oils that pool below the artichoke from cooking for extra flavor.  Once you get to the heart of the artichoke, I remove and discard the furry part with a spoon and/or my fingers, then eat the heart in big bites.  Mmmmm.

Did I mention it can get a little messy??  But that’s part of the fun!

Leave a Reply

