Mushroom Soup for One

Since the husband doesn’t always realize a good thing when it’s sitting right in front of him, I’m making this only for myself.  “I don’t like the texture of mushrooms!” he says.  “You’re crazy!” is my response to that.  Although I have heard that from other crazy individuals, so I guess he’s not the only one…  Because of his reaction, my batch size is small, and I recommend doubling this if you plan to cook for additional people.

It has been extra chilly here in Austin, and pretty much the rest of the US (except for the “it’s 65 and sunny!” updates I see from friends in AZ), so I’ve been day dreaming about this soup for a couple days.  Pair the Vitamin D (needed with this lack of sunshine) from the mushrooms plus spiciness from the cayenne pepper to clear your sinuses (darn those seasonal allergies), this soup combo is a must.  Also, like I stated in my prior post talking about my mushroom soup for vegetarian friends, you can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth and enjoy it just the same.

Mushroom Soup for One

  • 1 TBS Coconut Oil
  • 1 Small Yellow Onion, chopped
  • 1/4 Cup White Wine
  • 1/2-1 Jalapeno, sliced (optional)
  • 2 Cup Baby Portabella Mushrooms
  • 2 TBS Liquid Aminos
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper (optional – this will add a spicy kick!)
  • 1 Cup Chicken Broth (or veggie for vegetarians)
  • 3/4 Cup Full Fat Coconut Milk
  • 1 TBS Lemon Juice

Step 1:  HEAT & SAUTE.  Heat a medium-sized pot to medium heat (level 5 of 10).  Add your coconut oil and onions and stir around until they begin to brown.  Then add your wine, jalapeno (if using) and mushrooms.  I used a little less than the full 8 oz container I had.  Continue to stir about 5 minutes.

Step 2:  ADD & SIMMER.  Add your liquid aminos, cayenne (if using), and broth of choice.  Once it all heats up, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

Mushroom Soup before final ingredients

Mushroom Soup before final ingredients

Step 3:  REDUCE & FINISH.  Reduce your heat to low (level 1 of 10) and slowly whisk in your coconut milk, then add your lemon juice.  I personally did not add any salt, but did crack some black pepper on top.  Then pour yourself a bowl and enjoy!

I had just gotten home from a work out and felt STARVING, so I poured my soup over a big handful of fresh spinach (I should have chopped it first, oops) and some left over shredded chicken from yesterday.  Extra protein?  Yes please!

Mushroom Soup over chicken & spinach

Mushroom Soup over chicken & spinach

Leave a Reply

