My Breakfast Oatmeal

Ever since we FINALLY got rid of the mouse/baby rat in our house on Sunday (it had been living amongst us for over a month and I’m tired of finding random “chewings” around the house), I keep thinking I hear other small foot-related movements.  I would share with you the details of this rodent removal, but I don’t believe it is very blog-friendly.  Let’s just say it took the teamwork of our three dogs (pictured in my “About Me” page), the husband, and a crazy pregnant woman holding a roach-killing spray can.  Long story short, Sienna and Gus are good at catching the moving tennis ball.  Moving on…

Sometimes you get special food requests, and that’s what today’s post is all about.  I have trouble making plain-jane oatmeal, rather I make quite a complicated concoction, so I created a step-by-step for those who are curious…

My Breakfast Oatmeal

For a new batch that makes two servings:

Bring two cups of water to a boil.  Add 1 cup of your oats, then reduce heat (level 3 of 10) and cook for 10-20 minutes depending on how mushy or hard you like your final product.  Make sure to stir occasionally.  When making oatmeal, I love using my new bamboo cooking utensils.

Once the oatmeal reaches my desired consistency, I split my oatmeal into two to save half for another morning. To the oatmeal I plan to eat immediately (not store for later), I add:

  • ½ Cup Full Fat Organic Coconut Milk (thank you Santa for the new can opener!  Makes a world of a difference)
  • Fruit I have on hand, which in today’s case that is:
  • ½ banana
  • ¼ Cup Frozen Organic Blueberries

I mix that around a bit while continuing to heat the pot (the frozen fruits tend to cool it down).  Once I have it all at a nice temp, I remove from heat and stir in the following ingredients:

After pouring my breakfast into a bowl, I like to:

  • Sprinkle raw pumpkin seeds on top (from bulk section at HEB)

And Enjoy!

*You can also substitute high quality maple syrup.  And if you love the taste of brown sugar in your oatmeal, you may want to try Organic Coconut Palm Sugar.  It has a lower glycemic index (better sweetener to use vs. brown sugar), but I haven’t played with it much yet or researched, which is why I normally opt for local honey.  The coconut palm sugar is non-GMO & gluten free.

Other topping options:  Raisins, raw cashews (smash them up a bit first), chopped green apple, dehydrated/fresh blueberries, dehydrated cherries, frozen/fresh raspberries, frozen/fresh strawberries.  What toppings do you like to add??  **

**Keep in mind, most fruity additional toppings add sugar, and even “good sugar” requires a limit.

My Breakfast Oatmeal

My Breakfast Oatmeal

This combination of good fats (coconut milk, coconut oil, pumpkin seeds, etc), protein(Qi’a cereal, oatmeal, pumpkin seeds) and carbohydrates (fiber from Qi’a cereal, oatmeal) included in this meal, once consumed, should keep you full at least until lunch time!  And if not, drink more water!

3 responses to “My Breakfast Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Bulletproof Green Tea | Red's Recipes in the Raw·

Leave a Reply

