Baked Meatballs

Besides working the jobs, catching up with laundry, and preparing the house and guest bedroom for my soon to visit cousin (yay!), I’ve kept busy doing loads of blog research. And by blog research, I mainly mean eating. I’m really happy to have double excuses to do so right now too… one being “blog research” and the other being “the baby wants it”. You really can’t argue with that.

Other baby updates – We are super excited that over the weekend, we received two beautiful and FREE items for our baby nursery! One of the husband’s clients graciously gave us their white sleigh-style crib, and it is in perfect condition. And another past client of the husband’s called to ask if we’d be interested in their neighbor’s Pottery Barn rocker with ottoman because they’re wanting to give it away. Are you kidding me?? Of course we would love to have it! Once we got everything set up in the room, the husband and I took a step back, looked at each other and thought, “Whoa, this is really happening.” Because you know, my protruding belly wasn’t enough of a realization. Weeeeeee we’re excited!!

20140114-201838.jpg 20140114-202013.jpg

Ok, back to food. I decided to attempt baking my basic meatballs and compare results to my same skillet-cooked balls of joy. And I have to say, I think baking will be the way of the future. Not only does it require less attention and maintenance from me as the cook, but it also does not require any extra fats to prevent sticking, and the clean up is easy peasy! If you disagree with any of the above, I’d like to hear from you. Otherwise, you’re welcome.

Let’s review… I added a few additional items this time.

Oven Baked Beef Meatballs

  • 1 lb Ground Beef
  • 3 TBS Liquid Aminos
  • 1 Small Yellow Onion
  • 1/2 Green Bell Pepper (any color bell pepper will work)
  • ½ Jalapeno Pepper
  • 3 1/2 Cloves Garlic

Step 1: CHOP & PROCESS. Quarter your onion and bell pepper into chunks. Prepare your jalapeno by removing its insides, if you wish, and place all chopped items in your food processor with liquid aminos. Process until minced.

20140114-202003.jpg

Step 2: COMBINE. In a separate bowl, place your ground beef and combine (I used my hands) portions of your minced mixture from the food processor. Do not add it all at once, as you may not need it all! But then again, maybe you will – you can always add more but you can’t remove it once you mix it all together.

20140114-201952.jpg

I learned afterward that you can fit more on the one cookie sheet by placing them closer together…

Step 3: SHAPE & COOK. Preheat the oven to 375F. While it heats, make little balls out of the meat mixture (about 1.5 inches round) and start placing them on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Then place the cookie sheet in your heated oven for 20-30 minutes, flipping once. Mine took 25 minutes total, and I flipped them right around the 18-20 minute range.

I ate mine with side of quinoa on a fancy paper plate.  I'm all about easy clean up!

I ate mine with side of quinoa on a fancy paper plate. I’m all about easy clean up!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Baked Meatballs

  1. I made these last night for the kids and they were great! I didn’t have any jalapeños though. I will definitely make these again and maybe try different veggies/spice combos. Very easy to make and clean up 🙂

    • I’m so happy you and your kiddos enjoyed them! I’ve definitely included carrots, cauliflower, spinach, basil etc in these and the husband loves them just the same (and had no clue he was eating more veggies). Very versatile!

Leave a Reply

