Spinach Cashew Basil Pesto

An old bestest buddy of mine from high school made a very nice gesture last week. He kind of pushed me to do something I’ve thought of doing, but kept procrastinating the jumping of the gun in doing so. Long story short, he said he stumbled across my blog, and because he didn’t think people would remember to type “wordpress” in the URL, he decided to gift to me my desired domain name of RedsRecipes.com! What an awesome surprise!! And needless to say, procrastination was no longer an option. I decided to make the switch on my next day off, which happily arrived sooner than expected because of Austin’s “Snowpocalypse 2014” snow/ice day. There were over 200 reported car wrecks that day, so my choice to stay off the road was rather brilliant in my opinion…

Prom 2002

Prom 2002 pic with my bestest buddy!  (Our Accounting teacher was in the photo too but chopped her out)

So, in front of the computer I sat for the next 5-6 hours, updating and learning about all this new info (plus a few breaks to eat and play darts with the hubs, etc). Holy emotional roller coaster! First the site redirected correctly (yay!), then it didn’t (wtf!), then it did again (yay?). I paid to “upgrade” the site in order to utilize the domain name and have nicer themes to choose from, among other upgrades I still need to learn (let me know what you think about it), but then it would stop working again. I checked and rechecked to make sure I didn’t do something wrong, but being new at this, I feared I could easily overlook a small detail without realizing. I only panicked about 15-20 times before I decided to walk away and give it time to work itself out. Let’s just say I didn’t sleep well that night. Why must I let such things get to me?? Anyway, I think it’s up and running successfully now, so I appreciate the patience from the possible people who may have visited.

And to reward you, please enjoy my version of dairy free pesto sauce:

Spinach Cashew Basil Pesto

  • 1/3 Cup Fresh Basil, packed
  • 2/3 Cup Fresh Spinach, packed
  • 3 Cloves Garlic (I used 4 and it was pretty strong)
  • 1/3 Cup Raw Cashews
  • 2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil (add more for thinner consistency)
  • 1/2 tsp Lemon Juice, fresh squeezed

Step 1: COMBINE AND BLEND. Throw all of the ingredients into your food processor. Blend until it reaches your desired consistency of pesto! Easy Peasy!!

Spinach Cashew Basil Pesto

Spinach Cashew Basil Pesto

I chose to enjoy mine on some gluten free pasta mixed with fresh out of the oven baked salmon. I don’t eat gluten free pasta very often, so this was kind of like a treat 🙂 The pesto would also taste good mixed with cooked brown rice or quinoa tosseed with sliced vegetables like zucchini or cauliflower, maybe throw in some diced chicken breast. I tried it tonight with sliced sweet potatoes and salmon. It was interesting – and not exactly blogworthy *wink*

Baked salmon mixed with GF pasta and dairy cashew pesto

Baked salmon mixed with GF pasta and dairy free cashew pesto

How do you like to eat your pesto?

2 responses to “Spinach Cashew Basil Pesto

  1. Pingback: Accidental Baked Hummus Chicken | Red's Recipes in the Raw·

  2. Pingback: Almond-Breaded Pesto-Stuffed Chicken | Red's Recipes in the Raw·

Leave a Reply

