Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins

The Super Bowl was really exciting and all (pfff football), but I managed to make time during the game to get off the couch and bake something delicious. I originally planned to make cookies. As this was my first attempt to bake from my brain rather than an existing recipe, those “cookies” turned into mini muffins. You see, I have been day dreaming of desired ingredients for this chreat (that’s what I call them – it’s a cheat/treat), and once I combined all these desired items and the amounts I preferred, the batter seemed a bit too runny to make cookies. So I pulled out my mini muffin pan, added liners, and the rest is history.

One thing I am trying to overcome is my fear of making a mistake in the kitchen. It’s going to happen. Just last week I made some not-so-awesome hummus, but I still found a use for it! It will be okay, Red! Even if I did attempt to make cookies instead of muffins and they all ran together on the baking sheet, do I really think all of the sudden they wouldn’t taste good? Nah, they’d just be a mush of yummy “stuff” that I won’t be able to put on the blog. But that’s okay. I would still make the husband eat it and tell me how good of a job I did. That’s what good husbands do.

Luckily, yesterday did not turn into a mistake day. And I know this for sure because today I brought some chreats to my midwife and she kept saying “mmmmmmm” as she ate it (she also stated she was proud of how much weight I gained… thanks?), and then I brought them to my boss and his wife after we met to review some things. She requested to take a couple to her kids and he asked for seconds and even requested my website address so he can see the recipe (he’s probably just being nice, but I played along 🙂 )

Making the midwife proud

Making the midwife proud at 31 weeks

So, PLEASE make these and let me know what you think! They are gluten free and dairy free (I used Enjoy Life dairy free chocolate chips, but you can use whichever ones you prefer) and delicious!

Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins

Step 1: SMASH & MIX WETS. In a medium size bowl, mash your banana (I used an old school potato masher to do this). Then mix in the egg, almond butter, maple syrup and vanilla extract.

Step 2: ADD DRIES & COMBINE THOROUGHLY. Add your almond flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt to the wet ingredients listed in Step 1. Once it is all combined thoroughly, stir in your chocolate chips.

Step 3. PREPARE TO BAKE & SMASH. Preheat the oven to 350F. While it heats, take out your mini muffin pan and place your paper liners. Using whatever means you find necessary, smash your pecans. I used (and recommend) my new mortar & pestle, but you could simply place them in a plastic bag and use a glass or bowl to smash them, or give them a twirl in your food processor, or suggest a way you smash them in the comments!

Step 4. PINCH OF PECANS & BATTER. Once you’ve smashed the pecans, place a pinch of them (as evenly as possible) in the bottoms of the muffin paper liners. Then using a spoon, plop carefully the batter over the pecan bits – fill to the top of the paper liners. Be sure not to overfill because they will puff up while baking. It should fill all 24 of the mini muffin inserts perfectly! (It did for me anyway…)

20140203-224911.jpg

Step 5. BAKE ‘EM. Place the muffin pan in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Mine were done at around 17 minutes, but ovens vary. Let cool (if you can) before eating – otherwise, beware because they will be VERY hot. Duh.

Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins

Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins

Enjoy!

20140203-224612.jpg

Leave a Reply

