Baked Kale Chips

I love waking up and hearing the birds chirp outside the window. I also love the February temperature highs in the 70’s. Yesterday turned into a perfect day to sit at a restaurant patio, eat some lunch, read a new baby book, and soak up some natural vitamin D. Unfortunately I soaked up a little too much and left the patio with a new shade of pink on my skin. Ah, the life of a redhead!

20140218-102715.jpg

Last week as I emerged from my kitchen funk, I remembered my cousin baked us some delicious kale chips using olive oil and spices I don’t specifically recall. But I couldn’t stop eating them. Knowing that the oven temperature she used was below that of which would harm the coconut oil, I thought it would be a great idea to attempt a similar creation using coconut oil instead of olive oil. And the result? Pure, crispy deliciousness. I may even make myself a new batch today…

In the recipe below, I chose not to use measurements because the amount of kale you have on hand/choose to use will vary… That and I didn’t measure when I originally made these. Depending on how much you want to make, you will probably have to bake them in multiple batches to prevent the kale leaves from overlapping and not crisping up completely. Although I still enjoyed the kale when not completely crisp – maybe I’m weird.

Oven Baked Kale Chips

  • Fresh Organic Kale – the flatter the leaves the better
  • Organic Coconut Oil
  • Garlic & Onion Powder
  • Nutritional Yeast (optional) – adds a cheesy flavor and high in B Vitamins

Step 1: PREHEAT & PREPARE. Preheat oven to 250F. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper. Rinse your kale and dry it as much as possible prior to chopping it into “chip-size” pieces (whatever that may mean to you). I removed the thick center “core” section of each leaf before chopping.

Step 2: COCONUT MASSAGE. Coconut oil melts to the touch, so I placed a clump in my hand (maybe half TBS or less?), rubbed between my two hands, and began to massage the leaves of kale until completely covered in oil. This really did not require a lot of coconut oil as it spreads well. You don’t want to leave clumps of oil on the leaves. Place your oiled leaves into a large bowl for tossing the seasonings next. **Instead of rinsing the oil off your hands when you’re finished, feel free to massage the oil into your own skin for extra moisture.

Step 3: SPRINKLE & TOSS. Once all of your kale is oiled and in your separate bowl, sprinkle garlic and onion powder and (optional) nutritional yeast on top, then toss around with your hands. Continue to add and toss until you feel the leaves are coated to your liking. **Remember – you can always add more, but you can’t remove it, so add the seasonings a little bit at a time. And this time you probably want to rinse your hands 😉

Step 4: BAKE, FLIP, BAKE. REPEAT. Place your oiled and seasoned leaves flat onto the parchment paper lined baking sheet, making sure not to overlap the leaves. Bake in the oven for about 10-15 minutes (depending on how much you packed the baking sheet), flipping once during this time. If you have more to bake, repeat! And I hope you do have more to bake because one sheet will be gone before the second batch is done (if you’re anything like me)!

Baked Kale Chips

Baked Kale Chips with Coconut Oil

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

