Almond-Breaded Pesto-Stuffed Chicken

Wow I haven’t been very productive on the blog this week. I’m sorry. Monday I woke up and wanted to continue reading my book, “Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth” by Ina May Gaskin. I’m determined to finish it in preparation for my own home birth. And that is not the only book I want to have read before the baby girl arrives (in about 6 weeks, give or take)! The other books I’ve started and want to complete are “Happiest Baby on the Block” and “Real Food for Mother and Baby”. Tuesday morning I had a midwife appointment (all is great!), then came home to a delivered gift that I still have yet to successfully assemble (Pottery Barn bookshelf for baby room – I am at a point where I’m afraid I will break it if I do as it directs, so I walked away temporarily), then cooked a yummy mustard pork tenderloin dinner that I will post soon. I kind of forgot to take pictures so I need to create it again for picture purposes (I did remember to take notes!).

Let’s just say I’m REALLY beginning to feel pregnant. I honestly believe my belly grew significantly from Sunday afternoon to Monday morning. For growth and discomfort like this, I am so grateful to have a flexible work schedule. It would be miserable to feel forced to wake up at a specific early time, then struggle to focus and feel productive with your activities/responsibilities throughout the day. I went into work yesterday (as usual for Wednesdays) and my boss acted surprised to see me. Immediately told me I shouldn’t be out and about in weather like “this”. It was a little rainy and cold outside, but it’s nothing my Honda and I couldn’t handle! In case you’re wondering HOW pregnant I am…

34 weeks of pregnancy

34 weeks of pregnancy *whale emoticon*

I have continued to stay active with weights and cardio machines at the gym (greatly modified at this point), and I cannot wait to actually work out full force again. For those who are interested, I plan to blog my postpartum work outs and food intake showing how I personally plan to get back to my pre-pregnancy body. So stay tuned!

Sienna and me bikini gardening

Sienna and me bikini gardening (pre-pregnancy)

Onto this recipe. After making it one night last week, I day dreamed about eating it again the next day. Yes, it was that good. Maybe I will make it again soon. Tonight actually.

Almond-Breaded Pesto-Stuffed Chicken

  • 1lb Organic Chicken Breasts (that’s 2 breasts for us)
  • 4 TBS Pesto (my dairy free pesto or another pesto of your choice), measurement is approximate
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/3 Cup Almond Flour/Meal (I use Red Mill’s)
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Sea Salt
  • 2 Toothpicks

Step 1: PESTO PREP. Prepare your pesto if making homemade. Otherwise, skip to step 2.

Step 2: PREHEAT & GREASE. Preheat your oven to 450F and grease your glass baking dish with fat of choice. Coconut oil, ghee, butter, etc. (More about ghee in a future post **update:  here is the post) Or I imagine you can use baking sheet with parchment paper to avoid the need for grease.

Step 3: POUND POULTRY. Pound down the thicker part of your chicken breasts using whichever method you choose. This will assure they cook more evenly. Some people place them on cutting board with plastic wrap over, and roll with rolling pin or beat with a meat mallet. I personally pound it out with my bare hand area above my wrist, opposite side of my thumb… aggressively. Whatever works for you! (Maybe I should invest in the mallet…)

20140227-163057.jpg

Step 4: ASSEMBLE THE LINE. First have your cutting board with chicken breasts and toothpicks nearby. Then in a bowl to the right, add your egg and beat it. In a second bowl to the right, combine your almond flour, ground cayenne and sea salt. Then have your greased baking dish ready for placement of final product.

20140227-163109.jpg

Step 5: STUFF & BREAD. Add half your pesto to half of one of the chicken breasts, fold over the other half of the breast and pin shut with your toothpick. Dip both sides of your folded chicken breast into the beaten egg bowl, then quickly dip one side of the egg-covered chicken breast in the almond flour, then flip and dip the other side. Make sure to cover as much of the breast as possible before placing it into the greased baking dish. Then repeat with the second chicken breast. If you have leftover almond flour, feel free to sprinkle it over the chicken breasts as they rest in your baking dish.

20140227-163121.jpg

Step 6: BAKE. Place in the oven to bake for about 30 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 165F. Pair it with a side of veggies and enjoy!

20140227-163135.jpg

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

