Avocado & Spinach Egg Salad

Since my last post:
We have had two baby showers. Wow the love the husband and I felt from everyone was positively overwhelming.
“Enjoyed” my last greenbelt hike before baby comes – there’s quite a story behind this.  Let’s just say I only enjoyed the first half.

My Hiking Buddies

My Hiking Buddies

I have worked more hours at the marina because I know that won’t be an option soon – yes, I have finally accepted this to be true.
Celebrated my 29th birthday – you’d think I’d have at least one picture from this, but I don’t… bummer.
My belly and I appeared in March’s edition of Austin Fit Magazine.

I'm FAMOUS!  (haha)

I’m FAMOUS! (haha)

I’ve lost creative motivation to cook food regularly (thank goodness for my supportive husband) but still found some yummy meals to cook and eat.

Blueberry banana steel cut oats with chopped pecans, bacon chicken with brown rice pasta and garlic marinara, almond crusted turkey cutlets with gf pasta, and leftover creamy crumbled sausage with fried egg - recipes may appear on the blog on a later date :)

Blueberry banana steel cut oats with chopped pecans, bacon chicken with brown rice pasta and garlic marinara, almond crusted turkey cutlets with gf pasta, and leftover creamy crumbled sausage with fried egg – recipes may appear on the blog on a later date 🙂

My due date is less than a week away (although my midwives don’t believe I’m acting miserable enough for our baby girl to arrive before or close to that date).

28 week picture taken after reading and soaking up the warmth and indirect sunshine in our backyard

38 week picture taken after reading and soaking up the warmth and indirect sunshine in our backyard

Oh and Sienna got her hair did!

Hi.

Hi.

This recipe is a super easy lunch I made today and the seasoning measurements can vary based on personal preference, along with varying size of hard boiled eggs and avocado you use.  I also recommend preparing your hard boiled eggs ahead of time so that they are chilled in the fridge prior to use.

Avocado & Spinach Egg Salad

  •  3 Hard Boiled Eggs (pasture raised is best)
  • 1/2-3/4 Avocado, ripe
  • 1/3 Cup Fresh Spinach, chopped
  • 1 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (mine has a lighter flavor)
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp of the following:
  • Onion Powder
  • Celery Seed
  • Dry Mustard
  • Cayenne Pepper (for spice)
  • Black Pepper & Sea Salt
  • Sprinkle of Smoked Paprika at the end

Step 1.  SMOOSH, DRIZZLE, COMBINE.  In a bowl, smoosh your egg and avocado together, then drizzle it with the olive oil.  Follow that up with the listed seasonings above, but save the smoked paprika until the very end (after Step 2).

Step 2:  TOSS & TASTE.  Toss your chopped spinach into the bowl until combined thoroughly.  Taste your product to see if you want to adjust your seasonings.  Then sprinkle the top with smoked paprika.   Mmmm… Enjoy!

Avocado & Spinach Egg Salad

Avocado & Spinach Egg Salad

One response to “Avocado & Spinach Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

