Cucumber Tomato Salad

Sooo… I had my baby!! She is officially a month old as of yesterday and we are soooo in love with her. It has been far from easy, but every day it becomes slightly “easier” as we learn a little bit more about each other. Luckily I got 6 hours of sleep (not straight) last night/this morning, so I’m in a good mood. If you catch me after a night of less sleep than that, I may not say it’s getting “easier”. But look at this face… it’s totally worth it.

Our precious girl.

Our precious girl.

And FINALLY I had my first postpartum “work out” today at the gym. I say “finally” because that’s my happy place and I crave the endorphin release and physical challenge. I’ve been walking the baby girl in the stroller around the neighborhood (slightly over 1.5 miles) a few times per week over the past couple weeks, but this morning I was feeling extra good and I wanted to work some muscles. Although I can’t pretend like the simple walks around the neighborhood have been effortless. It’s embarrassing how quickly I lose my breath walking up a slightly inclined street. I have a feeling I’ll be working on my endurance for a while.

Proud mama.

Proud mama.

Today my gym work out consisted mostly of basic, very low intensity upper body exercises – nothing from the core and below (besides a little bit of elliptical to warm up for 10 minutes and recumbent bike to cool down for 10 minutes… and some yoga mat work). The husband had me do 4 sets of 10x chest band pulls (with resistance band) and 10x bicep curls each arm (12lb). Then 4 sets of 10x bent over rows each arm leaning on the picnic table bench (15lbs). Then we pulled out a yoga mat for me to lay flat on my back and pulse my hips/butt in the air with my feet and upper back on the ground, 20 times. I would have done more of those, but husband’s boy athletes were coming over and I didn’t want to seem inappropriate! Also, those dumbbell weights may seem heavy to some so soon after giving birth, but I was doing heavier weight when I stopped doing weights about a month before baby girl arrived, so this is reasonable FOR ME. I know to listen to my body and not push myself too hard. The last thing I want is an injury to keep me from more physical activity longer.

The husband and baby girl.

The husband and baby girl.

Onto the recipe! This salad is great, especially as the temperatures rise outside. I craved this pretty often when I first found I was pregnant (August of last year), probably because my body wanted the nutrients… not to mention it’s pretty delicious and somewhat thirst quenching. You might think this is strange, but I would even drink the leftover vinaigrette after eating all the veggies. THAT is how much I love it.

Cucumber Tomato Salad with Apple Cider Vinaigrette

Cucumber Tomato Salad with Apple Cider Vinaigrette

Cucumber Tomato Salad with Apple Cider Vinaigrette

Vinaigrette:

  • 1 tsp Raw Honey
  • 2 TBS Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 tsp Onion Powder
  • S&P to taste

Salad:

  • 1/2 Medium Cucumber
  • 1/2 Small Yellow Onion (Red onion is another option, but we always have yellow at the house so it’s my default choice)
  • 1 Medium Tomato

Step 1: MIX. In a small container with lid, combine the ingredients for the vinaigrette. Place the lid on top and shake vigorously to mix.

Step 2: CHOP. In a separate dish, preferably with a lid for easy combining and storage, chop and place your salad veggies. I like to chop them into bite-sized pieces for easy consumption.

Step 3: POUR, SHAKE & MARINATE. Pour your vinaigrette over your chopped veggies, place lid on the dish and shake around to mix. Then place the salad in the fridge to marinate for 1-24 hours. I usually eat a portion after about an hour (if not immediately) then eat the rest after I let it marinate awhile.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Cucumber Tomato Salad

  1. I love that you are feeling better and went the gym today. I am so, so sorry I wasn’t there to workout with you!! I love the pictures and the blog 🙂

    • We were so bummed you weren’t there! I was excited to surprise you with Alia! There is always next weekend.. And the weekend after that … And after that …. Haha 😉 hope you had a good time at the wedding.

Leave a Reply

