Sweet Potato Beef Chili

It’s been awhile since I’ve made the time to get on here – I have a baby and that’s my excuse.  I should probably work on something that pays me (aka my marina job), but this currently felt as though it may be more rewarding.  Today I felt accomplished with my productivity around the house and motivated to type out a new post after putting the babe to sleep.  We recently ran out of all our stocked up chicken broth in the freezer *gasp* because I guess I’ve been more preoccupied with the level of breast milk we have on hand (mama needs a drink sometimes!).  Since I’m doing pretty darn well with that (helloooooo upcoming vacation!) I allowed myself to focus more on the importance of creating this base to added flavor and nutrition to future meals.  A fresh batch of chicken broth has commenced, and the only uncooked protein we had in the fridge was ground beef – thus tonight’s meal creation!  The husband enjoyed two full bowls after his long day of work plus a hard work out prior to returning home.  Gold star for this good wife!  (Yes I’m rewarding myself a gold star, thank you very much.)

But before I get to the recipe, feel free to “Oooooh and Awwwww” over this little babe…

Her 4 month photo - she's almost 5 months already!

Her 4 month photo – she’s almost 5 months already!

Yes - those are 2 teeth and 4.5 months

Yes – those are 2 teeth at 4.5 months

Airplane with Dad!

Airplane with Dad!

Granddad got her a new outfit that's a little too big, but the hat fits perfect!

Granddad got her a new outfit that’s a little too big, but the hat fits perfect!

Sweet Potato Beef Chili

  • 1-2 TBS Ghee (I Ibuy this one at my local grocery store)
  • 1 Sweet Potato, small to medium-ish
  • 1 Yellow Onion, medium
  • 4-6 Garlic Cloves (depending on how stinky you want to be tomorrow)
  • 1 lb Ground Beef, I prefer grass fed (could also use ground turkey)
  • 14 oz Whole Tomatoes, with juice
  • 2 Cups Chicken Broth
  • 15 oz Black Beans (I used canned due to short notice)
  • 3 TBS Chili Powder
  • 2 TBS Cumin
  • 1 TBS Oregano (I used dried, fresh would be better)
  • 1/2 TBS Paprika
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder (I like to be extra stinky)
  • Salt to taste

Step 1:  CHOP, MELT, BEGIN.  Prepare your sweet potato by peeling, then chopping into small cubes.  Toward the end of your chopping, melt your ghee in a largish pan over medium high heat (level 8 of 10), then throw in the sweet potato chunks and toss around for 3-5 minutes until they begin to brown a little.  Between tossing, dice your onion.

Step 2:  ONION, GARLIC, BEEF.  After you notice the sweet potato browning, throw in your onion and garlic cloves and stir it all around.  Then open your package of meat and toss that in too.  Lower your heat a tad to lower medium high (level 7 of 10).  Break it down with your spoon so that it starts to cook somewhat evenly.  Continue to stir and watch until the beef browns thoroughly.  During this time, I opened my canned beans and rinsed them in the colander.

Step 3:  THE OTHER STUFF.  To the beef and veggie mix, add the tomatoes, chicken broth and black beans.  While the heat begins to rise once again, I added the remaining seasonings (adjust to your preference – I also added a few dashes of cayenne for an extra kick).

Let it simmer...

Let it simmer…

Step 4:  SIMMER & SERVE.  Once the chili begins to boil, decrease the heat to medium low (level 4 of 10) and let simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Serve to your husband when he comes home sweaty from a hard work out – even if chili wasn’t what he expected.

Sweet Potato Beef Chili

Sweet Potato Beef Chili

Leave a Reply

