Pineapple Basil Chicken

I came across this draft of a post I began in June.  I can’t make myself delete it… so play along and pretend like the summer is only beginning rather than ending.  Since the daily temperature outside continues to reach nearly 100 degrees, you will still find this recipe refreshing…  Also, it has now been 5 months since the baby was born, and I am feeling the SAME DANG STRUGGLE with this weight loss thing.  Sure I’ve built muscle from continuing to work out, but the number on the scale has hardly shifted 5lbs.  I was told by a good friend that at 6 months things change… we shall see.

June rant begins here – So it’s been two months since this baby was born and I haven’t dropped any weight since day one, and this magical breastfeeding they speak of isn’t so magical in my opinion. “Breastfeeding will melt the fat off you” they say.  I’ve added regular physical activity over the past few weeks (higher than normal intensity and endurance building) and have only put ON L-Bs! I know I know I need to be patient. My body has been through a lot, and I am being patient… but come on!
Speaking of two months, here’s my precious girl…

My 2 month baby girl

My 2 month baby girl

And my first time back on the greenbelt trails since early March.

HAPPY.

HAPPY.

It’s not quite summer yet in Austin, but it sure does feel like it. This recipe, in my opinion, is a refreshing combo after a long, warm day. The idea behind this recipe all began on Sunday. The husband graciously accompanied me to the grocery store and pushed the cart so I could keep the baby in her stroller.** I bought a spaghetti squash and thought my cashew pesto sauce would be yummy with it, so bought a bunch of basil, among other miscellaneous produce, like pre-sliced pineapple chunks since they’re an easy, bite-sized snack we like to keep in the fridge. Then we went about our shopping, which quickly came to a halt once the husband reached the end of his patience. Fine! We can go check out now…

In the middle of the night (I get to witness more and more of these “middle of the nights” it seems), I dreamed up the yummy concoction of different ways to use the remaining basil. Well duh – pineapple of course! And then what goes with pineapple? Bacon!! Right? RIGHT?? Genius, I know.

**I now either place her carrier directly into the cart or carry her and push the cart.  VERY soon she will have the ability to sit up on her own like a big girl in the front.  Also, I’ve since then planted a basil plant and use fresh basil from my garden.

Pineapple Basil Chicken

  • 1lb Chicken Breast (I used organic, air chilled)
  • 3/4-1 Cup Fresh Pineapple Chunks (already chunked but I diced into smaller pieces)
  • 1/4 Cup Pineapple Juice (collects at bottom of container)
  • 3 Garlic Cloves (chopped)
  • 1/4 Cup Fresh Basil (tightly packed, then chop into smaller pieces)
  • 3 TBS Liquid Aminos
  • 1 TBS Sesame Oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon (nitrate free)

Step 1: CHOP & MARINATE. Chop your chicken into small cubes and place in a medium-sized bowl. Then add your pineapple, garlic, most of your basil (set some to the side for garnish and stronger basil flavor at end), liquid aminos, and sesame oil. Mix around to coat all the chicken, cover the bowl, then place in the fridge for as long as possible (at least 30 minutes).

20140611-102012.jpg

Step 2:  BACON.  Cook your bacon, then set to the side to cool.  Strain out most of the bacon fat before Step 3.  Dice your bacon once cool enough to handle.  I love my cutting board set – although I’m totally not following the tab suggestions!

Diced Cooked Bacon

Diced Cooked Bacon

Step 3:  DUMP & COOK.  Dump your marinated goodness into the medium high heated skillet (level 7 of 10) and cook until chicken is done (165 degrees).  Then add back the diced bacon bits.

20140611-102026.jpgStep 4:  Serve a portion on a fancy paper plate with brown rice and top with fresh basil.

Pineapple Basil Chicken with Bacon

Pineapple Basil Chicken with Bacon

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

