Homemade Almond Butter Using Soaked Almonds

I came home one pregnant day last February thinking to myself that I’ve been wanting to try this soaking method because it’s a healthier way to consume and digest nuts, seeds and grains.  The soaking assists in the removal of anti-nutrients that can hinder the proper absorption of vitamins and minerals found in the food item.  Besides it being a slightly tedious task, it was super easy and plan to do it again.  Although I’m not sure how the baby would react to the continuous, loud use of my food processor… so eventually I will do it again 😉  And I will take more pictures to add to this post!

Homemade Almond Butter Using Soaked Almonds

First I soaked 2 cups of almonds in a salt water solution (1/2 TBS Sea Salt and enough water to cover it all) for approximately 8-9 hours (in this measuring cup with lid I used) – simply kept it sitting on my kitchen counter during this time.

Soaking Almonds

Soaking Almonds

Second, I rinsed and placed the almonds (multiple layers, flat, try to not let them overlap) in my dehydrator (I use this one) for about 18 hours (over night, plus most of the next day) to dry completely.

Third, into the food processor they went for a long, drawn out processing until reaching butter-like consistency. This required lots of:

  1. Grind
  2. Open and push “nut dust” down the sides with a spoon
  3. Grind again
  4. Turn off and walk away to let cool
  5. Push down “nut dust”
  6. Repeat about 20 times

That may be an exaggeration, but it also may not… I didn’t take specific notes on this. End result? Homemade almond butter! But with a less intense almond-y flavor than that of the non-soaked variety.

You also have the option of adding flavors/seasonings to this nut butter, such as honey, cinnamon, vanilla, etc.  I chose to leave it plain to make a simple chocolately treat for my Valentine… which I did after taking a few nibbles.  Check out my Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Balls.  You won’t regret it!

3 responses to “Homemade Almond Butter Using Soaked Almonds

  1. Pingback: Chocolate-Covered Almond Butter Balls | Red's Recipes·

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins | Red's Recipes·

  3. Pingback: Scrapped Protein Shake | Red's Recipes·

Leave a Reply

