Baked Salmon with Dill & Lemon

Now that my baby girl eats solids every day, I’m constantly trying to find new, nutritious foods for her to try and love.  My girl friend mentioned that her baby boy enjoyed salmon, so I thought I’d give it a try myself.  I’m not sure why, but until that point I was nervous about feeding fish to my baby… but I will just blame the “crazy” going on in my head for that one.  Or maybe it’s because of mercury levels in fish, which is not something you have to worry about in salmon.  Sooo moving on…

Not the best lighting, but she enjoyed a shredded chicken, diced cucumber and hummus snack while I cooked our next meal.

Not the best lighting, but she enjoyed a shredded chicken, diced cucumber and hummus snack while I cooked our next meal.

Cucumber, hummus and tomato slice snack for me!

Cucumber, hummus and tomato snack for me!

Since I chose to make this for my baby (who am I kidding, it’s for me too!), I included butter.  The salmon/butter vitamin A, D & K combo is ideal, so forgive me for using dairy.  It’s not only about me these days… and I’m totally ok with that!

Now I’m not stating specific measurements for the dill, garlic, butter, salt and pepper because it’s really a personal preference, but let’s just say I used enough of each to cover the top of the filet (see pics below), and we are keeping the vampires away tonight!

Salmon with Dill & Lemon

  • 1lb Wild Caught Salmon
  • 1 Lemon (juice of)
  • Fresh Dill
  • Garlic Cloves (sliced or minced)
  • Butter, unsalted
  • Sea Salt & Cracked Black Pepper

Step 1:  PREHEAT & PLACE.  Preheat your oven to 450F.  Place your salmon filet in a glass baking dish.  (Note:  I was silly and used a 9×9 so I had to cut my salmon.  It cooked somewhat unevenly, so I don’t necessarily recommend this, but sometimes you got to do what you got to do!  I just took out the small pieces when they were finished cooking and let the rest continue to cook longer.)

Step 2:  SEASON.  Chop or mince your garlic and cover the salmon as you wish.  Then place rinsed pieces of dill over the garlic and sprinkle with a little salt and pepper (I keep in mind that I can always add more later).

IMG_0395[1]

Spritz a little lemon juice all over and save some for after it’s finished cooking.  Then place small slivers of butter so that it melts over the filet as it cooks.

IMG_0396[1]

Step 3:  BAKE.  Place your baking dish in the oven and set the timer for 10 minutes, but depending on thickness, it could take up to15 minutes.  I just like to check after about 12 minutes depending on how it looks.  The internal temperature should be 150F.  Squirt the rest of your lemon juice over the final product and enjoy!

Baked Salmon with Dill

 

 

Needless to say, the baby LOVED it.  And so did I.  For dinner, I tossed some spinach and arugula with apple cider vinegar and blood orange infused olive oil and threw in some capers.  Holy moly that was a delicious combo!  I plan to do this exact meal for lunch today.

Leave a Reply

