Baked Almond Crusted Curry Chicken

Oh hey.  I almost always default to a certain type of seasoning when I cook, so this time I wanted to switch it up a bit.  I didn’t use my typical “go to” seasonings like garlic, onion OR cumin – whaaaat?  And the husband was pleasantly surprised!  I try to feed the baby whatever food we eat, but she’s still too young to have almonds in my opinion.  But soon enough, I have no doubt that she too will be a fan.

Baked Almond Crusted Curry Chicken

Step 1:  MARINATE.  In a medium/large-sized glass or metal bowl, place your diced chicken breasts and pour your coconut milk on top.  Then sprinkle in the curry and cayenne.  Mix until the chicken in evenly coated, cover the bowl and place in the refrigerator to marinate for about 3 hours.

Marinated Curry Chicken

Marinated Curry Chicken – if it weren’t raw chicken, I’d totally dip my finger to taste the marinade!

Step 2:  PREHEAT AND PREPARE THE CRUSTING.  Preheat oven to 375F.  In a medium bowl, combine your almond meal, paprika and turmeric.  Also prepare your baking dish covered with parchment paper.

Halfway through

Remaining almond meal combo

Step 3:  ASSEMBLE.  Using tongs, remove the marinated chicken one by one and cover in the almond meal mixture and place on the parchment paper lined baking sheet.  (I pretended the chicken was like Tetris pieces as to fit it all on one sheet.  Feel free to use two baking sheets and ignore my laziness of not wanting to wash an additional item.) IMG_0389[1] Step 4:  BAKE.  Place your chicken in the oven for 20-25 minutes until internal temperature is 165F.  Enjoy!

Almond Crusted Curry Chicken

Almond Crusted Curry Chicken

Although the chicken didn’t “crisp” as I hoped, my husband voluntarily stated that this is one of his favorite dishes yet.  I usually fish for compliments when I cook a new food combination, but he beat me to it!  I paired the chicken with broccoli and onions steamed in a small amount of chicken broth, then melted ghee on top with a little sea salt and cracked black pepper.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Baked Almond Crusted Curry Chicken

Leave a Reply

