Bamb (Beef & Lamb) Meatballs

A little while ago, my neighbor made beef and lamb meatballs with marinara, and they were delicious.  But it was ironic because I had a blank sheet of paper in my recipe spiral with the title “Ground Beef & Lamb Meatballs with Cucumber Mint Greek Yogurt” and I had both packages of meat in my fridge.  I ended up making something else with the meat in the fridge at the time.  A few weeks later, I revisited the idea.  While skipping the yogurt dip because we try to limit the amount of dairy we consume, if any, let’s be honest, it would have been a few extra steps I didn’t feel like taking that night, nor dishes I wanted to clean.  In this case I didn’t use marinara with my balls, but I bet they would taste great with some garlic marinara, or any marinara for that matter.  I just love garlic.  I miiiight have mentioned that a few times in previous posts…

And a quick update on family… my baby girl turned 1!!  (It’s hard to see, but that hat has a “1” on it.)

A IMG_0427

Bamb (Beef & Lamb) Meatballs

  • 1lb Ground Lamb
  • 1lb Ground Beef
  • 1 Small Onion
  • 3 Garlic Cloves
  • 2 Celery Stalks
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1 TBS Greek Seasoning (if you don’t have this, simply double the Garlic, Onion & Oregano)
  • 1/2 TBS Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TBS Onion Powder
  • 1/2 TBS Dry Oregano
  • Sea Salt
  • 1 cup Crumbled Feta

Step 1:  PREHEAT & PROCESS.  First, preheat the oven to 375F.  In a food processor, add the onion, garlic and celery.  Process until finely chopped.  Then add your egg and quickly pulse until combined.

Step 2:  MIX.  In a medium/large bowl, add your raw, ground meat, the seasonings, and pour in the processed ingredients.  Then (I used my hands) mix everything together, except for the feta.  Once it looks evenly distributed, gently add the feta (if you and your tummy don’t mind dairy!) so that it doesn’t break down too much (I like big chunks in the final product).

Bamb Meatballs

Step 3:  BALL IT & COOK.  I wanted to test to see which provided better results, so I baked half the balls on a rack, and the other half on a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  I rolled my balls into about 1.5-2 inch balls.  Depending on the thickness of your balls the cook time will vary.   Mine took 20 minutes.

Which cooks better - The cookie sheet or the rack?

Which cooks better – The cookie sheet or the rack?

And for the record – the racked balls were better!  But either way, they were delicious.  We served them over spinach and arugula and quinoa.  Even the husband ate them with the feta *gasp* and the baby enjoyed them as well.  But she’s a little oinker, so I’m not sure if that’s saying much 😉

Bamb Meatball Dinner

Leave a Reply

